About the NDIS commission

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) Quality and Safeguards Commission (the “NDIS Commission”) is the Federal Government regulatory body overseeing the administration and regulation of the NDIS.
GCC is approved by the NDIS Commission and JAS-ANZ to undertake quality audits against the NDIS Practice Standards. All functions related to approved quality auditors and the assessments are covered under the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 Act.

About National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)
There are around 4.3 million Australians who have a disability. The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) provide more than $22 billion in funding a year to an estimated 500,000 Australians who have permanent and significant disability.
The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) connects people with a disability with services in their community, such as doctors, therapy, support, and care. People with a disability (participants) are connected with support services (providers) and provided with funding to access support.

About the NDIS Commission Start Dates

The NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission was recently established as a nation-wide, independent body to improve NDIS supports and services. The NDIS Commission started operating in different states at different times, outlined below:

  • New South Wales and South Australia – 1st of July 2018.
  • Australian Capital Territory, Northern Territory, Queensland, Tasmania, and Victoria – 1st of July 2019.
  • Western Australia – 1st of December 2020.

For an interactive map with further information specific to your state or territory, please visit the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission website here: https://www.ndiscommission.gov.au/about/start-dates 

Helpful Links for Further Information:

-NDIS Certification vs NDIS Verification

-The process to register as an NDIS provider

-NDIS – Frequently Asked Questions

-Request a quote for certification.